A footnote to yesterday’s Issue N#1 post

You know what I said yesterday, about racism, ethnocentrism and “the other”?

The focus article in The Age today (http://www.theage.com.au/national/so-youre-a-muslim-20141209-1215kk.html) emphasizes this.

I guess I skimmed over some of that stuff yesterday, didn’t I?
I did Sociology and Psychology as VCE subjects; I’ve always found that sort of thing interesting.
Ethnocentrism is “judging another culture by your own [culture’s] standards” and “believing that your own culture is superior”. There’s certainly a bit of that going on at the moment!

Empathy, and looking at a culture without judgement, falls under the heading of cultural relativism.

Leave a Reply

