WT&TT: Birth vs. Battle (reblogged)

Contrary to popular belief, writing – like life, imo – is not all about conflict.

Birth vs. Battle

Let me kick things off with blasphemy: Conflict is not the engine of story.

Allow me to explain.

The longer I teach, the more writing texts I seem to read, if only to find out if someone else has a clearer, simpler, or more insightful way of presenting the material. (To my chagrin, that’s often case. Fortunately, I’m not too so old a dog that I’ve forsaken new tricks.)

In some of my recent reading, though, I’ve detected a bit of an uproar over the supposed centrality of conflict in our stories.

Read more by clicking on the linked title.

Leave a Reply

