Liebster Award

I got nominated for a blogger award! Thanks Carla!

The official post rules are:

  1. Thank your nominator and tag them in your post(s).
  2. Answer the 11 questions given to you.
  3. Nominate 11 blogs with less than 1000 followers.
  4. Ask your nominees 11 questions and let them know on social media.

So, here goes!

  1. What is your favorite children’s book and why?
    Depends on what you call a children’s book. I’ll say the Harry Potter series – yes, series, I don’t bother picking a particular favourite. You don’t have to be a kid to read and enjoy those, but I read them first in primary school. They’re my favourites because the world-building is amazing (I love the idea of magical society existing alongside the muggle one) and the books have multi-layered themes (I’ve said that a few times before on here). Those are the reasons my love for the HP series endures, but I also love them because they were the books I discovered when I was just a nerdy uncoordinated girl – it’s the common point of connection I discovered with some people who became friends.
  2. What song or songs bring out the most emotion in you and why?
    Tricky. Perhaps (right now anyway) it’s “Thank You for the Music” by ABBA. This used to remind me of my first ever ‘performance’ – a school concert. Lately, though, it’s taken on a deeper meaning, as I listened to the words a little more closely and realised how much I could relate to it (whether the talent be song or writing).
    I like many songs. The songs I love tend to be ones which tell a particular story and/or were heard at a particular event/ point in time in my life so are now tied to it. Those are the ones that really grab me and pull my heartstrings. (I’ve talked about the power of music before on the blog, actually.)
  3. Who is your favorite author?
    I have several, like Tamora Pierce, J.R.R. Tolkien, Emily Rodda and others…. but top of the list is J.K. Rowling.
  4. If you have suffered heartbreak, what kind of writing did you produce in the aftermath of your heartbreak?
    Eep. All the stuff I wrote about heartbreaking times (and before and after) is private, handwritten, journal stuff. The sort of soul-scrubbing, often painful but ultimately cleansing stuff that’s needed at that time.
  5. What is your favorite thing that you wrote as a child?
    Depends on your definition of “child”. My favourite subject was English at school, so I wrote a lot of different stuff. If we’re talking pre-teen writings, then I wrote a letter to an alien once, as well as a story about fairies in a back garden in a rural Victorian town foiling a burgular… But I tend to like my teen writings better.
    In other words, an author is her own harshest critic.
  6. What makes you laugh?
    Many things, as I’m a cheery soul. I like lighthearted, honest fun and I tend to laugh most when I’m enjoying myself with friends or family, or watching the antics of our family dog, or reading a good story/ watching a good movie/ show.
  7. Who is your favorite stand-up comedian?
    Er, I dunno. A lot of conventional humour tends to slide past me – so I’m a hit and miss sort with comedy. (I can’t stand mockery humour, for instance). I don’t really have a favourite.
  8. What is your favorite season and why? 
    Late spring/ early summer. When the days are usually warmer but it hasn’t reached boiling and the holiday season is coming.
  9. Who is you favorite book/movie villain?
    I hadn’t really thought about it tbh. I’m going to say Voldemort and Vader. Sure, Sauron and that ilk are nice to read about because they’re so bad, the feelings of satisfaction when the inevitable destruction happens, but  I like my villains nasty, but with a touch of tragic!/ unfortunate! and maybe-redeemable!backstory which made them that way. It gives more room to play.
  10. What is your favorite city in the world and why?
    What a question! I don’t know. I’ve been to a few cities and they all have their good points. I don’t really know if I have a favourite. Instead, I’ll nominate a city I’d like to visit (among others): Bradford, UK. Hi Morwen!
  11. Who is someone that has had a positive impact in your life and why?
    Just one person? All right then. I’ll name one of my first friends, Vaanesa. She was one of the few who stuck up for me in primary school. Or maybe that should be “stuck out with me”, haha.

Now, to nominate 11 other bloggers:
Blissfully Informed Hippy Chick – https://blissfullyinformedhippiechick.wordpress.com/
Oncoming Spork – https://apostrophobic.wordpress.com/
Gee Jen – https://geejenmotw.wordpress.com/
Megan Morales – https://meganelizabethmorales.wordpress.com/
Mind to Unbind – https://mindtounbind.wordpress.com/
Ceredwyn Alexander – https://paganaidd.wordpress.com/
Joanne – http://samepersondifferentme.com/
Poppy – https://toldbypoppy.wordpress.com/
Matt Pavlak – http://accidentallyinspired.com/
Gina – https://aussieg.wordpress.com/
Angelique Jamail – http://sapphostorque.com/

Check them out. They’re really good – a mixed bag of life experiences and locations. I might not always agree with what they say, but they make me think, laugh and feel (with them, not at them, I hope!).

My questions…

  1. What is your favourite book/ movie/ T.V. show and why? (You can give an answer to all three, or just one or two of them.)
  2. Do you prefer to read books or watch movies/T.V.?
  3. What song or songs bring out the most emotion in you and why?
  4. What makes you laugh?
  5. What gets you angry – and how do you deal with that? (‘That’ being the situation and /or the anger itself.)
  6. What are you passionate about? (Other writers, you can name writing if you like, but name something else too.)
  7. What is your earliest memory?
  8. Do you have/ want a pet? If yes, what sort and why? If no, why not?
  9. What is your favourite time of year? (Holiday, season, etc.)
  10. What is your favourite type of weather?
  11. How long have you been blogging and what made you start?

And go! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

