Final Stories of Ichthyosis Awareness Month: Carly and The Meet

So, we’ve come to the end of May. Here’s the start of Carly’s story and the start of her description of the Australian Ichthyosis Meet, held on the second Saturday of may. All in her own words, not mine. Also, all the stories on here have been snippets from Carly’s blog. Go over there and check out the full stories!

Ichthyosis Awareness Month – my story: “I’ve built a strong sense of resilience – both through having Ichthyosis and as an online writer.”

 

It’s the last day in May, and that means Ichthyosis Awareness Month comes to an end. 47 blog posts were published in May – and that’s been a great feat amongst full time work, organising the meet, participating in the Emerging Writers Festival, travel, university lecturing, freelance writing and living life (and there have been some tough things to deal with in May). I don’t do things by halves! I’m tired.

While I have not been writing for my own blog this month, I’ve been collating, editing, scheduling and promoting all of these posts (with a little editing help from three people). It’s been a huge job! You can read all of the stories here – and if you’ve got time, 2013 and 2014. Who knows what 2016 will bring?!

Read all stories in the Ichthyosis Awareness Month Blog Project here. 
http://carlyfindlay.blogspot.com.au/2015/05/ichthyosis-awareness-month-my-story-ive.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed:+TuneIntoRadioCarly+(Tune+into+Radio+Carly)

All about the Australian Ichthyosis Meet. So much friendship, advice and love.

Saturday 9 May was the day of the first Australian Ichthyosis Meet at the Melbourne Zoo. I have been planning it since September 2014 – and it was so wonderful to see it come into fruition after so much hard work. (The meet was open to the whole Australian Ichthyosis community – though it booked out in March.)
We had around 70 attend – and around 20 of those were affected by Ichthyosis. I started small – because it was me organising the majority of the event and I didn’t know the level of interest. But there’s a clear interest – enough for the attendees to keep in touch in a number of ways now. I also wanted it to be financially accessible and so it was no cost for attendees.

I seem to be lost for words. I cannot even describe how amazing the day was. I can’t believe it happened, and I can’t believe it happened so well! What an amazing, moving, inspiring and fun day! Thank you to everyone who came to the meet – especially the helpers. I created an event that I wanted to exist. So proud.
There was so much love for one another on that day – total respect was shown to everyone, and all of our advice and experiences were listened to. And we laughed a lot.

What we learnt at the Australian Ichthyosis meet.

Baby chaz who has ichthyosis - what we learnt at the Australian Ichthyosis meet

We learnt so much at the Australian Ichthyosis Meet. We learnt from doctors and nurses, but more importantly, from each other. I was struck by how articulate and confident the children were speaking up about what works for them and what they’d like to do next as a part of the Australian Ichthyosis community. I am mindful that we were in the safe space of a function centre at the zoo, and people revealed lots of personal things about themselves – so this is only a very small summary of what was shared.

http://carlyfindlay.blogspot.com.au/2015/05/what-we-learnt-at-australian-ichthyosis.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed:+TuneIntoRadioCarly+(Tune+into+Radio+Carly)
One thought on “Final Stories of Ichthyosis Awareness Month: Carly and The Meet

Leave a Reply

