What A Couple of Weeks (!)

Well, both “within and without” so to speak, it’s been a busy time.

Without, in Australia, politics is politics. ‘Nuff said – though if you wanted to mosey on over to The AIM Network (theaimn.com) and see their views, be my guest. They’re always interesting.

Also, things have been happening on the world stage – the Ukraine-Russia situation is heating up again; the Syrian conflict is still going on; Daesh (the name all who are opposed to the so-called “IS” should actually call them, to avoid giving them any sense of legitimacy) is still killing; Peter Greste has been freed 🙂 ; two of the Bali Nine have been confirmed to have dates with Indonesia’s firing squad sometime this month 😦 ; the US and other countries (hi, Greece!) have been doing their thing, etc.

Within – that is, regarding me personally – both good and awkward stuff has happened, as you might expect. I’ll focus on the good: I went to brunch with Carly Findlay (!!!) {http://carlyfindlay.blogspot.com.au/2015/02/brunch-with-my-blog-readers.html?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed:+TuneIntoRadioCarly+(Tune+into+Radio+Carly) – in the photo, I’m the one with glasses on the far right}; a friend (if you’re reading, HI!) had a 21st, which I went to and had a great time at; and (drumroll please) I signed up for the World’s Greatest Shave! Not to mention, I’ve started writing my story again properly – but more on that later.

My page for the shave is: http://my.leukaemiafoundation.org.au/CAKeogh . I’ve wanted to do it for quite a while, since I first heard about it. I said, “Oh, I’ll do it when I’m x years old.” Then recently I realised I didn’t have to wait that long. So I’m doing it. My goal is $1200 or more. If I get $600 then I’m shaving to a number 8 cut, which is still quite short; at $1200 or more I’m shaving to a number 3 cut. I’m also donating my ponytail to the charity “beautifullengths” to help make real-hair wigs for people fighting cancer. Woo! So far I’ve raised $135 – there are about four and a half weeks to go.

Leave a Reply

